Hello,

I am a graphic designer who does some web design on the side.
The store I work at had a website that the boss wanted transferred
to a different host. So I downloaded it off the server and uploaded it
onto a new one. I knew that I was going to have problems once it was
uploaded because the site relies on heavily SQL and I honestly have no experience
in databases. I know it sounds foolish of me to take on something like this
with no previous experience, but I think, with some help, I can pull it off.
So basically the problem I am having is that everytime I try to load a page
from the site, it says 'Could not connect to SQL db'. I've transferred the database
to the new server as well and am not really sure what my next plan of attack
should be? Any suggestions, tips, advice, etc. would be very appreciated.

Thanks,

iamlevicious

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Is the SQL db the same, e.g. both mysql ? Can you use the same user, with the same password ? Is the PHP version the same, as of version 5, mysql extension is not automatically activated. Are you using other specific extension that are not yet installed ?

1 - Yes, both servers are using MySQL, I made sure of that before I transferred the site
2 - I can't use the same name and password because the hosting I am using automatically assigns a username and password for the database
3 - I am not sure what version of PHP is being used. How would I go about finding out?
4 - I don't believe I am using any specific uninstalled extensions.

Thanks

OK, so I found out that both servers are using PHP ver. 5.
Is this going to be a case of me just having to go into the files
and changing the username, password, host, etc.?
Also, I've been reading up and it sounds like using an SSH is much easier
than phpMyAdmin. The host i was using before uses a pretty old version of phpMyAdmin (2.22)
and my new host isn't. How would I go about getting access to a shell command instead of phpMyAdmin?

Thanks,

iamLeVicious