Hi there,

I am a complete newbie and need help with normalization and ER diagram. here is the case study:

a college specializes in providing foreign language courses at various levels to the general public. it consists of several local centers in and around the city. at present, course enquiries and bookings are managed centrally by the college on a semi-automated basis, namely, they are handled by a largely paper-based file system, supported partially by a basic computer system.

the college provides courses for various foreign languages. each course is associated with a particular level (intro, intermediate, or advanced). any of the courses in identified with a course code, but may be run at different centers of the college and taught by different lecturers within the same period. in addition, a lecturer may teach at any of the centers if necessary.

a potential student will initially make an enquiry to one of the course officers at the central enquiry unit of the college. a brief conversation with the student will normally enable the course officer to ascertain the course in which the student is interested, and to identified any appropriate level for the student.

the course officer will then check the cost and dates of the course, together with its availability. in most cases, the student will be offered to choose from a list of available centers and lecturers that run the same course. once a choice has been made by the students and provided the chosen class is not yet fully booked, the course officer will complete the course booking form:

(booking_ref_no, booking_date, student_no, student_name, student_address, student_tel, course_code, course_name, course_level, course_start_date, course_finish_date, course_cost, lecturer_name, center_name)