This may sound stupid but I am very new to MySQL.
I am thinking of using this for a database driven site on a Linux server with a new, (hopefully more reliable) host.
My current host can supply a MySQL database for £25.00 per year, (seems too cheap) my proposed host is quoting £160.00 per month just for the MySQL database and set up.
The existing is co-hosted and the new one will be on a dedicated server but the prices above do not include hosting, just the MySQL.
I have looked around to see if MySQL is something I could buy and install myself but cannot seem to find anybody selling it as a program.
Is it something you buy, rent or is it a free program, (optimistic I know).
Why would there be such a large difference in the price or am I just being ripped off.
I know the above may sound very basic but I really do not have a clue about MySQL. Can somebody help? I have ordered a couple of books on the subject from Amazon (any recommendations?) but would like to find out a bit more ASAP.

Hope some one can help a novice.

Regards,
RobL

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Any host that charges you for MySQL is almost most certainly ripping you off. About 95% of the hosts that I see support MySQL by default.

And, I'm glad to help you here :) Because, guess what? MySQL is FREE and OPEN SOURCE :eek: :D :) Meaning that actually, the code is publicly available to the public and therefore, no one can LEGALLY sell it for any price and therefore, you can't rent it, you can't buy it. You can just download it and install it on your own computer. But in this case, about your host, they should have already supported MySQL by default. Which host is it? The 25 pounds is quite a lot for MySQL to be installed.

Hopefully the host that charges more is providing a much better server and really high bandwidth...... As Gary noted mysql is open source and free to use.

My suggestion is to rent a dedicated server and load what you want on it :)

Dance