Hi I have made lots of Access databases over the years but it seems I have fogotton lots of basic principles since I have not used it for ages.

One thing I want to do is:

For instance when you send an email using Yahoo or similar webmail if you are adding an attachment there are 5 spaces to add 5 file attachments. If you are adding more than 5 you click on add more files and another box appears ready for you to add another attachment.

I want this to happen in Access only instead of adding file attachments I want it to add a como box each time that is controled by data in one of my tables.

I.e. 1 blank combo box that I can drop down and select a product. then click add new and another blank combo box would appear underneath it and so on. Also eventually the space would run out so the actual form size would need to auto grow to accomodate the extra fields.

Any ideas? Please be nice I am not a newbie but you may as well treat me as one until I remember how things roll.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

The easiest thing to do would be to make another table to store the "attachments" with the following fields:

ID, e-mail ID (FK), attachment

I realize that your situation not actually be e-mails and attachments, but I wanted to keep the same example to make things easier.

After you need to make an e-mail form to record data about the e-mail. On the e-mail form, you need an attachment sub-form, which lists all the attachments for that e-mail. You can format the attachment sub-form so that it only shows one record at first, so you can add an attachment, but after an attachment is added, another "attachment" combo box is displayed for an additional attachment. As you continue to add "attachments" and they take up more room, scroll bars will automatically appear on the subform so you can scroll through the attachments.