Greetings to the Community, I need some assistance with a MySQL query that is running very slow. I must admit that I am not a MySQL expert and I wrote this query with hints from several postings on Daniweb, so I'm looking for some hints to speed it up.

Here's the query:

SELECT app_questions.quest_id, app_questions.app_question, app_questions.quest_type, app_questions.box_type, app_questions.quest_exception, 
MAX( CASE WHEN app_answers.chap_id = '357277' AND app_answers.current_yr = '2012' THEN app_answers.quest_answer END ) AS '2012', 
MAX( CASE WHEN app_answers.chap_id = '357277' AND app_answers.current_yr = '2011' THEN app_answers.quest_answer END ) AS '2011', 
MAX( CASE WHEN app_answers.chap_id = '357277' AND app_answers.current_yr = '2010' THEN app_answers.quest_answer END ) AS '2010' 
FROM app_answers RIGHT JOIN app_questions ON app_answers.quest_id = app_questions.quest_id 
WHERE app_questions.step_desig='1'
GROUP BY app_questions.sector_id, app_questions.quest_id, app_questions.quest_type

The data is arranged in two tables--one for questions with some switches to handle exceptions as the PHP builds the page dynamically, the other for the answers with field to tag the submitter and a timestamp to distinguish when it was submitted.

Table 1 Questions
Fields: Question ID | Question

Table 2 Answers
Fields: Chapter ID | Answer | Current Year

The above query returns a 3 year history of that submitter's answers to a set of questions determined by the field "step_desig". The field "step_desig" denotes the page on which the question is asked and the questions are grouped by subject. Example: All questions on scholastic performance are presented on the same page.

Example: Questions, Answer for 2012, Answer for 2011, Answer for 2010

The application inserts an answer for the question, ONLY if the question has been answered, otherwise the query above returns NULL, so that there is a return for every question whether it has been answered or not.