I am fairly newbish at handling databases but I've come to think that it's the most powerful tool for what I want to accomplish.

I work as an English teacher and I am trying to create a database that will keep track of the students' language levels. Kind of like a language porfolio, if you will.

I want each student to be able to go into a form and assess their own skills in different categories like; listening comprehension, reading comprehension, writing skills, etc.

So far I have a table with category IDs, a seperate table for each category, a student list table, and a table to handle queries to the student list and category list.

I also need three checkboxes connected to each question in each category table. The point of the checkboxes is that the student can check one themselves if they can answer yes to the question, I can check another if I can answer yes to the question and the third checkbox is for the student to check if it's a goal they want to reach.

If you're still reading, thank you. Now for my issue. How do I store the data from the checkboxes? I want every student to be able to go in and see that the checks they made are still there. I also want to be able to do that and get an idea about what each student has done and need to be doing next.

I would be grateful for any response. If you need clarification on anything I'll try and make things more clear, as I'm not sure if I've conveyed what I want to accomplish properly.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

So far I have a table with category IDs, a seperate table for each category, a student list table, and a table to handle queries to the student list and category list.

In my opinion, having a table with just categoryIDs is needless. why not have
1. a table with two columns(categoryID and CategoryName)
2. a table with as many columns as the student data you want to capture(maybe StudentID, Name, Age,.......)