I have a server script with which i have allowed the user to mark any item as favorite, but i also want another script through which the user can unfavorite the same item if they want and that item should be deleted from their favorite list. I have kept the same table for both favorite and unfavorite code, therefore i have used update query to update the details. For this purpose i have a code, but its not working, as i am new in the programming field would appreciate some guidance

<?php
    require_once('config.php');
    $favorite = $_REQUEST['favorite'];
    $unfavorite = $_REQUEST['unfavorite']; 
    $id=$_REQUEST['id'];

$unfavoritedeal=mysql_query("SELECT * FROM favoritedeals where id='".$id."'"); //favoritedeals is the name of the table

if($row=mysql_fetch_array($unfavoritedeal))
       {
          $favorite=$row['favorite'];
          $unfavorite=$row['unfavorite'];
       }

$myfavorite=(isset($_REQUEST['favorite'])?$_REQUEST['favorite']:$favorite);
          $myunfavorite=(isset($_REQUEST['unfavorite'])?$_REQUEST['unfavorite']:$unfavorite);

$update = mysql_query("update favoritedeals set favorite = '".$myfavorite."', unfavorite = 1 where id = '".$id."'");    

if(unfavorite="1" where id='".$id."')
  {
    "delete from favoritedeals WHERE id= '".$id."'";
  } 

$posts[0]['message'] = 'favorite list updated';
    $selectt = mysql_query("select * from favoritedeals where id = '".$id."'");
    $results =  mysql_fetch_assoc($selectt);
    $posts[0]['detail'] = $results;
    header('Content-type: application/json');
    echo json_encode($posts);
?>

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Hi, the query at line 18 is not correct because you're going to set 1 to the unfavorite column, no matter what is the value of $_REQUEST['favorite'].

Try to avoid $_REQUEST and use $_POST or $_GET, otherwise the script can receive input from different sources: cookies, post & get requests.

The IF statement at line 20 is not correct:

if(unfavorite="1" where id='".$id."')
{