Hi Dw.

I'm trying to install MySQL and its my first time to install MySQL. I've downloaded the latest version which is version 5.7.12 and when I try to install its says "Beginning configuration step: Stopping Server [if necessary]
Ended configuration step: Stopping Server [if necessary]

Beginning configuration step: Writing configuration file
Path cannot be the empty string or all whitespace
Ended configuration step: writing configuration file"

I've saw another post on stackoverflow on someone who had the same problem but he/she was using version 5.7 and the solution was that he/she had to create a folder "MySQL 5.7" on "C:\ProgramsData\MySQL" I also tried this but nothing, the error still shows.

Am I missing something here?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Not suer, but try C:\ProgramData\MySQL instead of C:\ProgramsData\MySQL. I only use MySQL on Linux and since it is a standard package installation all of that cruft is taken care of for you.

Oops sorry I miss typed it when typing here, it ProgramData there's no s.

The easiest way to install in on a windows system is to download the MySQL installer MSI from:
http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/installer/
and running it. It has worked for me every time and I normally do the mysql-installer-community-5.7.12.0.msi file at 384MB.
Although it only references 32bit it installs the 64 bit files if a 64bit system is detected and is noted on the page:
Note: MySQL Installer is 32 bit, but will install both 32 bit and 64 bit binaries.

I downloaded it there, but downloaded the offline install. Well will try redownloading it again if this continues then I will download the older version and see,

Thanks for sharing this useful post!! It has really been helpful.

Well I don't know whats the problem with this. Ive redownloaded the installer and tried it, got same problem, unInstalled the previous but Still when I try to install this same error is shown.