What is FIND_IN_SET() performance like? It it something that should be avoided at all costs? I want to search a column that consists of comma-delimited numbers for rows that contain a specific number.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

FIND_IN_SET() does not use indexes, so it can become slow. You can try with a regular expression and LIKE:

SELECT `column` FROM `table` WHERE `column` LIKE '123%' AND `column` RLIKE '123[0-9]{0,3}';

See this post for more information:

Thank you but the article you linked to does not mention RLIKE. Do you mean REGEXP?

Thanks! Sorry though, I'm not really experienced in regular expressions and I'm unsure of how the code you provided mimics the behavior of FIND_IN_SET(123, column_name).

I would need it to match on rows where the column value is:

Something like LIKE '123%' would only match on the first.

Thinking I might just stick to find in set because it will only ever need to seek through fewer than 100 rows.

Something like LIKE '123%' would only match on the first.
Yes, you can try this one: LIKE '%123%' to find all rows instead of LIKE '123%'

It sounds like you aren't working to the strengths of the database. MySQL, unlike Oracle, PostgreSQL etc doesn't support arrays, and searching on text is unlikely to be optimal.

I don't know the context of the original query, so it's difficult to suggest a solution, but it could be something like this:

Tags:
 - id: 1
   name: Programming
 - id: 2
   name: Databases
 - id: 3
   name: Web Development
 - id: 4
   name: Floristry
 - id: 5
   name: Kids TV

name: Making pages faster
   tags: [1, 2, 3]
 - id: 2
   name: CBeebies top ten
   tags: [5]

So, to find all posts about Web Development you'd look through all of the posts, filtering on the tags field for the inclusion of 5. In PostgreSQL, using the array type, we'd do something like this:

select * from posts;
┌────┬──────────────┬─────────┐
│ id │     name     │  tags   │
├────┼──────────────┼─────────┤