Hey guys, my name is Thomas Thelwall and I am new to this place. I am currently in the process of building a website, and I am in desperate need of some help. The website I am building is nothing big, however, we are hoping that it will grow over a period of time, we are producing something along the lines of a movie reviews website which will include reviews for all the latest releases. As you can imagine, this will require a lot of time and motivation, but there is just one problem. I am well aware that most websites like this usually use a database to store the necesary information, this can then be viewed as a webpage on a website, now I need to know if it would be best for me to create a new webpage for each review that is added to the website, or is my best bet to create a database in which the reviews can be stored in. If this is the best option, can someone please tell me how I go about doing this, because I'm afraid that I have very little knowledge about databases, and I may need some time to research it. Thanks for your time.

Oh and by the way, I'm only 15 years old, so please keep it simple, if you know what I mean. :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

hi, if I were you I'd do a little research into PHP/MySQL; hosting is cheap and there are lots of companies to choose from. It is definately a better idea to back your website onto a database; it will save masses of time and effort in the long run.

Basically you'd have a review table (for arguements sake we'll call it reviews).

This table may include fields such as:
id (the unique review number),
film_title,
age_rating,
genre,
review_text (the actual body of the review),
review_summary (may use a couple of lines to summarise it for a list/menu etc),
reviewer

Then you'd simply have 1 review page and insert the data from the above fields as and when you need it.

The fields above would have to be normalised. This page is a good source of examples of data models.