Okay I am a new programmer and I am interested in making games. I already began learning OpenGL, C++, and SDL. I need you guys to clear some stuff up for me please and also help recommend some tutorials/books for me.

I want to make a 2D Pokemon MMORPG. (Don't laugh at me please)
Questions below.

• What are all the stuff I will need to make a game? (I am making it from scratch)

I already know I need a coding language and Graphics like OpenGL, and I know i'll need something like SDL.
    I need you guys to list everything I will need to make this kind of 2D Pokemon MMORPG.

• Do you know any good tutorials or books?
    I need some good books or tutorials for the stuff you listed for Question #1. Please recommend one for me.
  • Anything extra I will need to learn?

Note: I did my research already, I am just asking for advice and recommendations.
I already learned a good amount of C++, Win32 API, SDL, and OpenGL.
I will learn Networking last, since it seems hardest.

Explain to me how to build my MMORPG and MMO Engine.
Yes I am dedicated to this and I already began learning a few months back.
Please don't post negative things in here, I am just trying to learn. I am very dedicated to doing this.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

If you could pick the ideal answer to your question, what would it be? You can be creative and say "show me this this and this" or whatever it is you want the answer to say.

Well it can help if anyone would show me books/tutorials on how to build a 2D MMORPG with an Engine from the ground up.

You're a new programmer, yet wanting to create a game engine already? And a networked game too... wow. I assume you have a server set-up for the online transactions; or will you be converting a good computer you have sitting around at your home already? And that you'll be writing your customized server's code :P