Hi I am a beginner in game programming and would like to make
a rocketmania clone using opengl, the display and interaction part is done.
I also have a classes named gameboard and tiles with their properties.
but I am having problems on game logic,
where the fuel flows into a pipe opening,
then fuel spreads to adjacent pipes with opening.

can anyone tell me what traversal algorithm should I use?

any help or clues would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You probably want a breadth-first search, with the tiles as nodes and edges between adjacent tiles in each of the four cardinal directions.

If you only have one fuel source in the game, that's your root node. If you have multiple fuel sources, just mark each of them as 'visited' to start with.

commented: thanks for the information +1

Hi, I already tried searching through the array of tiles/pipes,
but I encountered a problem, since my current loop only searches downward,
I thought, what if the fuel is .. flowing up/ going northward(caused by tile/pipe orientation)

I think the solution requires adding another array search, but in a different direction
this requires more "for loops", making the code long/messy, and might make the game run slow.

as for breadth-first search, Im still confused and cant think of a way to put my tiles/pipes into a tree...
bec. of the possibility that a child can have 3 parents and the child can also have 3children. my destination is the rockets,
if a connection is made between the fuel and the rocket, then
I remove the nodes that are connected.

Is there a better way to do my array search, or anyone can teach me how to put tiles/pipes into a tree?

thanks for the replies

Here is a method using recursion that you could use.

If you would want this to work with rocket mania then you would need to do checking to see if the two pipes line up rather than just replacing the character like the function does below.

#include <iostream>