I know C++ and java. My school focuses on Java but it doesn't seem to be very appropriate for game design. I wouldn't even consider Java if it wasn't for Minecraft. I want to make some nice and small indie games. If they go far great, but I also want to be marketable to be safe.

It seems like C#/XNA seems to be catching on, but I don't own a 360 so I'd be stuck with just Windows, it's not really portable, and developers seem to be more into C++.

I feel portability is important to me, also my laptop is a mac. In fact I want to give a shot programming iPhone apps too, but objective-C is a big turn off.

Every time I look into libraries to get started for C++, I just get overwhelmed (also partly because I don't know which to choose) and then get unmotivated. Everyone has their own opinion what to use. Like SFML is great but it's new, so less documentation, SDL is more supportive for c, etc.

There are I'm sure tricks and ways to get away with using X on Y, but I'm still a newbie and don't want to be overwhelmed. I feel like I can't proceed until I make a firm decision on my route up ahead. Any help?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Take some Ritalin and use C++, or just freaking use C#. You can use C++ (or objective-C++ with minimal touching of objective-c stuff) for iPhone apps.

Take some Ritalin and use C++, or just freaking use C#. You can use C++ (or objective-C++ with minimal touching of objective-c stuff) for iPhone apps.

Do you have a library recommendation? Just for general stuff (could be 2d or very basic 3d)

Come up with an idea
Map out that idea
Decide the target market for said idea
Develop against that target market.

If you want to make a PC Game to hit the steam powered network:
DirectX & OpenGL are two very viable libraries.

If you want to hit the iPhone then you need to know Objective-C

If you want to hit the droid market then you need to know Java.
...etc

Want to end up on the XBOX check out the XNA stuff from microsoft.