Hi guys,

I'm quite new to C++, I have just recently gone through 3/4 of SAMS teach yourself C++ in 21 days and I am hoping to start programming my first object-oriented game.

I have created a few games in the past (you can check them out on my
site www.urix.us), all however procedural; and I would like to focus
more on the OO side of programming from now on.

What (or who) I need is a guide though, because I understand everything
about OO programming, I just dont really understand yet how it can be implemented in a game concept. If anyone has an example of their own game it would be very helpful for me if you could send it over so I can check out the source code and get into the game programmers mind.

Please help, thanks in advance :cheesy:

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I would strongly recommend you to try to simulate the programs you have written during your C days in C++. That would help you in gaining an OO perspective and make it to approach every problem in the OO way. Jumping head on in complex projects would only cause total chaos.

But still if you must have it, try these sites:

http://dmoz.org/Computers/Open_Source/Software/Games/
http://osswin.sourceforge.net/games.html

Best of luck.

I just dont really understand yet how it can be implemented in a game concept.

I'm gonna play the part of a naysayer if ya don't mind. ;) You say you understand how OO works and all the concepts and such, right? If that's really how it is then not seeing a good fit right away means that OO might not be a good idea. For you, I think you're trying to apply organizational patterns with OO to a project that doesn't need it.