hi....well this is my first post in this community...i hope people here will help me in my doubts...
I am an intermediate level programmer of c++...
i have a doubt regarding the permutations of a given string and permutations of first N natural numbers...
i have written a program for printing all the possible permutations of first N natural numbers..in the order of their indexes.....means if the user enters the index...the program will also tell him the i-th permutation....i havent used recursion...but when i searched here i saw the program for permuting a given string using recursion....i want to know whether the two problems are same or different...
And why the permutation problem is so important...that it is asked in interviews...kindly help me out...i can post my code and the algorithm i have followed for permutation of first n numbers...(if anybody want)

thanks & regards...
Rajat

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

i want to know whether the two problems are same or different

The problem is the same. Solutions are worked out in different manner.

Apart from this, I could not make out from your post what problem you are facing. Please mention if I've misunderstood something.

You said this:

i have a doubt regarding the permutations of a given string and permutations of first N natural numbers...

But afterwards, you didn't mention the doubt.

well u already answered one of my questions.....the other is that why is it to so important..

well i also want to tell u that the program which i have made works fine upto first 8 natural number's permutations...but when i try it for 9 or number greater than 9 then it takes lot of time to print all the permutations...factorial 9>300000....so i wonder whta's the best solution possible till now...what's the time complexity of the best solution using recursion or some other efficient method...