Hello,

i need help on how to search for a sentence inside a txt file after opening it and then applying a condition if that sentence was found.

im a beginner so i don't know how.

basically i have written a program that uses system("command>file.txt") to start a command line process and write the output to a file , and what i want is to search for a certain line in the output (an error message for example) and force the program to act upon the condition of it being found.

string sentencetolookup="error connecting to server";
system("command>output.txt");

i want to know how to look for "sentencetolookup" inside the "output.txt" file and if found force the program to stop or return an error message.

any help is appreciated
thanks

Recommended Answers

All 45 Replies

you need an ifstream object to open the text file, and a string to receive the strings. Both of these are standard c++ classes in <fstream> and <string> header files. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of examples you can follow to write your program so I am not going to repeat them here. Basically you need to (1) read a line using getline function then (2) compare it to the string you are looing for using the == comparison operator.

you need an ifstream object to open the text file, and a string to receive the strings. Both of these are standard c++ classes in <fstream> and <string> header files. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of examples you can follow to write your program so I am not going to repeat them here. Basically you need to (1) read a line using getline function then (2) compare it to the string you are looing for using the == comparison operator.