I need to write a code for reading values from the serial port and dumping them onto a text file,
can someone help me?
Whats required is that the changing values in the serial port has to to be updated frequently onto a text file.

thanks for any help

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

i am using the windows platform and am using C compiler

Which operating system and compiler are you using?

This has been discussed many times before.

Try say http://www.lvr.com/serport.htm

commented: Starting thinking about changing your compiler soon. +2

Off hand, I can list about a dozen C compilers for windows.
I figured it was 'C' from the forum you chose to post in.

Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2 is an accurate description of a compiler (for example).
Oh, and "windows" isn't exactly precise either, covering as it does 3.1, 95, 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, Vista.

sorry for being so vague, but i am just starting with this and this is my first project,

well i am using turbo C version 3
and i am developing for windows XP

thanks

Off hand, I can list about a dozen C compilers for windows.
I figured it was 'C' from the forum you chose to post in.

Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2 is an accurate description of a compiler (for example).
Oh, and "windows" isn't exactly precise either, covering as it does 3.1, 95, 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, Vista.

sorry for being so vague, but i am just starting with this and this is my first project,

well i am using turbo C version 3
and i am developing for windows XP

thanks

Well, Turbo C compiler o more supported. Try think of changing to a new compiler. Like Dev-C++. Which is really good. Perhaps if get standard libraries to access Serial port from windows. If i can still remember you have a library bios.h which allows your access serial port. Is it iport and oport.

ssharish

i saw the libary there are a few commands like biascom in bios.h, i feel that will do the job of getting the values from the serial port.

but how do i transfer it on to a test file??