I am a newbie to windows programming environment in c++,I have to make an on-screen keyboard.
I dont know how to do draw the exact layout of keyboard in Visual C++.
Any help?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Surely your professor has given you more information than you have given us?

Is your application supposed to be text or GUI?
Are you supposed to click on the keys?
If so, what is supposed to happen if you do?
Is this strictly Win32 or are you using some sort of graphics library?
Are you supposed to draw the keyboard yourself, or just to display some keyboard image?

Let us know.

The keyboard is supposed to be GUI.
Its strictly Win32 and preferably no graphics supports mouse movement and whenever buttons are pressed on the real keyboard the on-screen keyboard should reflect the event by changing the corresponding key's color,An on-screen display is also associated with it so that keys pressed can be seen.........

Visual C++ has a pretty good "calculator" example in the free examples that come with Visual C++, including the express version. You press buttons on the calculator and it displays them in the text box portion. It has an action listener for all the buttons. Expand it and you have a keyboard. It doesn't do color changes though, so you would have to tweak that part. I guess you'd have to modify it from listening for buttons pressed with the mouse to a keyboard listener.

If you use that sample program and it is "skipped" when compiling, make sure that, in one of the drop down menus, "Win 32" is selected and not "Itanium", which seems to be the default. It was REAL aggravating till I finally found that exact issue on the MSDN forums.

I am using visual studio 2005 and I dont know how to see the sample codes........
Thanx for the help.

What library are you allowed to use .NET or just MFC ?

Hmm, you've actually got a bit of work ahead of you. I see two possibilites: