Hello everyone!
I am new to C++. I am learning GUI programming using gtkmm on linux. I have a frame class, and I have a library class (that writes data to sqlite) that belongs to that frame. How should I declare it - by pointer or reference? like -

class MyFrame : public Gtk::Window
{
public:
    library * NewLibrary;
}

or

class MyFrame : public Gtk::Window
{
public:
    library NewLibrary;
}

If I do it like in the first case, when I use the library's results vector<string>, say, to display database entries, when I press quit on my app there are some horrible glibc memory errors ("double free or corruption (fasttop)").
If I use the second case, everything is fine, no memory errors but it does not allow me to include a library destructor in MyFrame's destructor (causes a segmentation fault), and also it uses a bit more memory. I am afraid I might get memory leaks. What should I do?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

if you assign memory on the heap in ur code then you have to release that too.. in the first case in your destructor you should delete the pointer to release the memory.

in the second case the creation and deletion of object will be taken care of by the class,you dont have to worry about calling the library class destructor in myframe, that will get called automatically..

Thanks a lot! That explains why by pointer there are have horrible memory errors!

actually your first qs is more interesting .. n something i'm trying to understand too... how to decide whether to keep it as a pointer or and object. i'll share whatever is my understanding..