Hey, I'm new to the Java arena, and am trying to create an application (using JForm and JPanel) displaying a fireworks show. The problem is creating an explosion for the display. Does anyone have any recommendations for creating an explosion? I've been stuck on this for quite some time and thought I'd see if anyone had any recommendations. Thanks for any advice you can provide.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

here you go buddy, this example has source code too.
http://javaboutique.internet.com/fireworks/

Thanks majestic0110, I'll try that. I've been playing around with another version I found a while back, and have trouble integrating it into the rest of my app (get errors that G is null from a NullPointerException). I'll try this other one and see what I can get.

ok let us all know how you got on! Send us the code if you are still struggling.

You can use the following equation of projectile trajectory to make your explosions.

x = v*cos(a)*t
y = v*sin(a)*t - ½gt²

Keep an array of 100 or so particles that will make up the firework. Given a random velocity (v) for each particle and a random angle (a). Then just step through the time, updating their positions.

You can use the following equation of projectile trajectory to make your explosions.

x = v*cos(a)*t
y = v*sin(a)*t - ½gt²

Keep an array of 100 or so particles that will make up the firework. Given a random velocity (v) for each particle and a random angle (a). Then just step through the time, updating their positions.

Thanks Phaelax, I'll try some of that. Was about to post something when I saw your reply so I'll hold off posting problem code until I play with that a bit more.

Thanks.