I don't know what to do with this xlib error I get from the code below (please paste it into the python console and see it for yourself).

I got some advice from some guy, but I am a newbie to wxpython so I don't know how to follow it and it will take a long time until I will become capable to do it. Since it may be much easier for you to do it, please somebody modify my code for me. This will be a much faster way for me to learn about threads and wxpython, too.

Note that this is just a simplified sample of my code, so don't try to change its design *completely* (just because this sample looks stupid and "useless anyway"). Using the same wxpython function in separate threads is vital. Think of it as a function that acts as a python implementation of zenity or (k)dialog. I just need to call this "(k)dialog"-like window function from many functions in many separate threads. However, no problem if I will need some extra code (i.e. outside the function) in the main body of the script. I just want as much as possible of the wx to be confined to a function.

This helps me keep the GUI and the code as separated as possible in my script. I am a console guy and prefer to write "scripts (sometimes with some GUI features)", not gripts.

#!/bin/python
import wx, threading; from wx.html import HtmlWindow
def wxwin():
class HtmlDialog(wx.MessageDialog):
def __init__(self, parent):
wx.Dialog.__init__(self, parent)
self.htmlwindow = HtmlWindow(self)
self.sizer = wx.BoxSizer(wx.VERTICAL)
self.clbutton = wx.Button(self, wx.ID_CLOSE)
self.sizer.Add(self.htmlwindow)
self.sizer.Add(self.clbutton)
self.htmlwindow.SetPage('message')
self.Bind(wx.EVT_BUTTON, self.function, self.clbutton)
def function(self, event): self.Close()
if __name__ == '__main__':
app = wx.PySimpleApp()
dlg = HtmlDialog(None)
print str(dlg.ShowModal())

def thrd(): wxwin()

while True: wxwin(); threading.Thread(target=thrd).start()

THIS IS THE HELP I GOT (may be useful for you too):