Hi guys,

After trawling through the forums and interweb, hopefully someone here can offer me some help with sed!
I have a csv file that contains records. Each field is delimited by a comma, and each row is delimited by a \n. However, in some cases, I need to remove the \n that may occur in a string between two comma's.

e.g. 1 (correct) TAP,NO,NO,Country,NSW,NSW,No,Yes,,LLL,,Rural and Remote,,,,,,

e.g. 2 (incorrect) TAP,NO,NO,Country,NSW,NSW,No,Yes,,LLL,,"Regional Towns
Added 22 May 04 by Mwun-LLL/8M",,,,,,

As you can see in example two, after "Regional Towns", there is a \n that needs to be removed.
I can't remove every single occurence of \n because that will just give me one huge line. I can only remove the \n when it occurs between comma's.

I am quite new to sed, so any help would be much appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I haven't tried it very often, but look up the sed command "N". It is meant to append an additional line into the pattern space. Try something like

/"[^"]*$/{
N
s/\n//
}

Hey There,

The above solution is good for 2 lines. It can be modified for an indefinite number, also, but that doesn't come to my mind right this second ;)

If the \n you want to remove is always at the exact end of the line and you have a variable amount of \n's to contend with, you can try this also, if you know what the exact format of a line should be (looks like a comma at the end and never a comma directly preceding a \n, from what you've posted but that might not always be the case, in which case this won't help - sorry):

sed 's/^.*,\n$//'

and it should take care of you in that limited circumstance

Best wishes,

Mike

Hi guys,

Thanks for your help, it's certainly put me on the right track!

Mike, you are correct about masijade's sed statement, it breaks when there is more than 2 \n in a line.