I got this assignment and I'm stuck. I have to write a function that takes an integer value and returns the number with its digits reversed. For example, given the number 7631, the function should return 1367. Can someone help?
:confused:

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

I got this assignment and I'm stuck. I have to write a function that takes an integer value and returns the number with its digits reversed. For example, given the number 7631, the function should return 1367. Can someone help?
:confused:

This question gets asked about once a week on a dozen forums. Do a search. Or post code. Read the announcement.

Hi! I also received this assignment, but was wondering if someone could help me fix my program (hopefully this constitutes "showing effort"). I don't understand why it will work for relatively small numbers but not bigger ones. I just started programming so I'm sorry if this has a very simple answer.

/*
*File: reverse.c
*This program will take a number from the user and reverse its digits.
*/

#include<stdio.h>
#include"genlib.h"
#include"simpio.h"

main()
{
	int num, rem;
	printf("Enter your number: ");
	num=GetInteger();
	printf("Your number reversed is: ");
	while(num>0)
	{
		rem=num%10;
		printf("%d", rem);
		num=num/10;
	}
	printf("\n");
}

Thanks!

Hi! I also received this assignment, but was wondering if someone could help me fix my program (hopefully this constitutes "showing effort"). !

Depends -- is this your work or did you plagarize it from some other source ?

>> don't understand why it will work for relatively small numbers but not bigger ones
Integers can only hold a finite number of digits (see limits.h). So if you try to enter a number bigger than that the program can't work the way you think it should.

Thanks very much! I did not know that.

>>Depends -- is this your work or did you plagarize it from some other source ?