I am an absolute beginner and a bit desperate.
I found some answers to my question on google, but they are formulated in a way that is not very explanative and simple.

I have a mainform (form1) and a custom made dialog (form2).
Form1 has a ButtonAddString and a Label1.
Form, 2 has aTextbox1 and OK and Cancel buttons.

In runtime, when I push the ButtonAddString, it opens the Form2 dialog and I can write a string in dialog into Textbox1 and want it to pass it to the mainform to Label1.Text

The problem as I understand it, is that when I close the dialog, the instance of that Form2 form does not exists anymore. Also intelisense does not "provide" me with ability to read form2 values in form1 code.

Pls help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Define an global object from dialogForm in the button which open this dialog which exists in MainForm initialize new dialogForm object then get its string instance.

More...

DialogForm contains public string object which has the value of the texrbox

MainForm has global object from DialogForm

class MainForm : Form
{
DialogForm dialogForm; 

On MainFormButtonClick
{
dialogForm = new DialogForm();
dialogForm.ShowDialog();
string whatWroteInDialogForm = dialogForm.stringValue;
dialogForm.Dispose();
}
}

Any miss understanding kindly reply..

>when I close the dialog, the instance of that Form2 form does not exists anymore
Not quite. Here's a common idiom that I see and use for dialogs:

MyDialog dlg = new MyDialog();

if ( dlg.ShowDialog() == DialogResult.OK ) {
  // Filling a text box, for this example
  this.textBox1.Text = dlg.ResultText;
}

ResultText would be a public property for the dialog:

internal class MyDialog: Form {
  private string _resultText;

//...

public string ResultText {
    get { return _resultText; }
    private set { _resultText = value; }
  }

//...
}

Another way to communicate between forms is events, but with dialog forms that's usually overkill.