Hi All,

I m working on a TabControl in Vb.Net. Its having 4 tabpages. like Tab1, Tab2, Tab3, Tab4. On Tab1 I m having a checkBox.

My requirement is when checkBox.Checked=True it will enable the Tab2. How can I go for this?

Note: I m not selecting the Tab2

Plz give me few sugestion

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

You can do it by using 2 methods first
TabControl.SelectedTab = TabPage
or
TabControl.SelectedIndex = theNumberOfTabSelected

So you want to have the second tab disabled until they check this checkbox?

Well, after fiddling around for a little bit (I'm rather new to Visual Basic so maybe this could be done better) I've found out that there is no 'obvious' enabled state of the tab. The intellisense doesn't pick it up and it's not in the properties panel but you can set it through using: TabPageName.Enabled = False set that when the form loads, the user can still click the tab but all the controls within that tab are disabled (I don't know how to disable the tab entirely sorry :/)

Private Sub checkbox_CheckedChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles checkBox.CheckedChanged

If checkBox.Checked = True Then
         TabPageName.Enabled = True
    ElseIf checkBox.Checked = False Then
        TabPageName.Enabled = False
    End If

End Sub

So make sure you set the Enabled State of the TabPage to False and then use that code, edit it to your hearts delight to enable the page. Maybe someone else knows how to disable the tab altogether :) but here's my suggestion.

(My tabs are messed up in my code, so be aware.)

Although you have mention a way to disable tab controls in vb.net that wasn't working
Don't know the reason
I'm using VB.Net 2005 it doesn't have enabled property for tabpages.
Therefore once you type as follows it will prompt an error message

TabPageName.Enabled=true

Enabled is not a property of TabPage

So if you find another way to disable tab pages please post it