Hello everyone, I am VERY new to programming. I have downloaded and installed the Dev-C++ compiler and I am using it with the C++ for dummies book and when I try to compile my simple "This is my computer talking" program, I come up with 70 library based errors.

Is there a place I can go to get files for my library? A CD came with the For dummies book, but files are mislabeled in there and no matter what I install, I get the same errors. This is really frustrating me and I have no idea how to fix it or where to go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Zanziff

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Depending on the libraries, Dev C++ comes with most of the libraries already. They are installed in the correct place when Dev C++ installs. try this:

// HelloWorld.cpp
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
     cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
     getchar (); // pause
     return 0;
}

You should get no errors when you compile and run this. It should display "Hello World!" to the console. Press the Enter key to end the program. if it doesn't do that, uninstall and resinstall Dev C++ and try again, or in some other way try to fix Dev C++. If it does work, we'll need more information on the errors and the code and which libraries you are using.

Thank you very much. I'll plug it in and see what happens right away! :)

Well that seemed to help out a lot. My errors went from 70 down to one. This is what it was:

[Linker error] undefined reference to `WinMain@16'
 C:\Dev-Cpp\Makefile.win
[Build Error]  [Project1.exe] Error 1

Ill pop this one is as well just in case it helps

g++.exe main.o  -o "Project1.exe" -L"C:/Dev-Cpp/lib"  -I"C:/Dev-Cpp/include"  -I"C:/Dev-Cpp/include/c++"  -I"C:/Dev-Cpp/include"  

C:/Dev-Cpp/lib/libmingw32.a(main.o)(.text+0x7f):main.c: undefined reference to `WinMain@16'

make.exe: *** [Project1.exe] Error 1

Execution terminated