Hi everyone,
I'm new to daniweb and seems cool there are alot of nice helpful people on here.
With my dad we are trying to script a simple poker game on python(and tkinter).
There are 4 players ( 1 real and 3 artificiel intelligence players), each AI should be able to know if his hand is good enough to bet follow or fold and the cards should be randomised (like a usual poker game).
Which game would be easier to script? Stud or texas hold'em?
If anyone could help me or send me a show a start of script so i can get started on it ( i have seen some programs on the net but im not going to copy them)

Thankyou, Chunky

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

First you have to get the basic design of the deck and the hand of cards down:

# basic design of a card game using Python

import random

def show_hand(hand):
    """give drawn cards more detailed descriptions and then display"""
    for item in hand:
        rank = item[0]
        suit = item[1]

if rank == 1:
            rank = "Ace"
        elif rank == 11:
            rank = 'Jack'
        elif rank == 12:
            rank = 'Queen'
        elif rank == 13:
            rank = 'King'

if suit == 'h':
            suit = "Hearts"
        elif suit == 'c':
            suit = "Clubs"
        elif suit == 's':
            suit = "Spades"
        elif suit == 'd':
            suit = "Diamonds"

print "%s of %s" % (rank, suit)

card_list = [ (rank, suit) for suit in "hcds" for rank in range(1, 14)]

# test
# these could also be the image filenames of the cards for the GUI game
print card_list

print "-"*30

# or make the hand all cards and show detail
show_hand(card_list)

print "-"*30

# pull 5 cards
hand = card_list[:5]

# show the hand
show_hand(hand)

print "-"*30

# now shuffle cards, pull hand of 5 cards and sort hand by rank
random.shuffle(card_list)
# pull 5 cards
hand = card_list[:5]
# sort the hand by rank
hand.sort()
# show the hand
show_hand(hand)