I am kinda new to world of c programming, and i have been assigned a problem that is written as follows: Write a procedure that counts the number or words in a string. Write a program to test your new procedure. I am kinda lost on this completely. Any help on how to define the number of words by the amount of spaces. How do i define a word? Where do i want to start. I figure it will involve some form of looping and a counter. Any help will be greatly appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

This sounds like a simple string. I know nothing about C, but I know you'll need a string or function for this.

Look through any docs or manuals you can find. It would be something like count$() but dont rely on me, im a newbie too :D

thanks, i think i figured it out.

thanks, i think i figured it out.

great. Can you post the code, so others can learn?

I had the same assignement 1 month ago ;)
Here's the code :

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#define SIZE 100

int count(char vector[],int nr);

int main()

{  
     int i,string_size,x; 
     char string[SIZE]; 
     printf("Type a text: ");
     gets(string);
     string_size=strlen(string);
     x=count(string,string_size);
     printf("Number of words: %d\n",x);

return 0;
}

int count (char vector[],int nr)

{
    int gasit=0,i; 
    for(i=0;i<nr;i++)
    {
        if(vector[i]>='a' && vector[i]<='z') gasit++;
          if(vector[i]>='A' && vector[i]<='Z') gasit++;
    }

return gasit;

}

@ Windsurfer : If there's something you don't understand ,feel free to reply

Good luck

{
    int gasit=0,i; 
    for(i=0;i<nr;i++)
    {
    }

return gasit;

}

I think there is a better way of doing this, just use the [search]isalpha( )[/search] function which checks whether the given character is an alphabet or not. You require ctype.h header file to use this function.

Hope it helped, bye.

{
    int gasit=0,i; 
    for(i=0;i<nr;i++)
    {
    }

return gasit;

}