Hi,

Could anyone please check my sample code? I am a beginner in C++. This code is for file comparison. Whenever I run it, the compiling result is always "Usage: compiles <file1> <file2>".
I think something is wrong. Please give me some suggestions how to go through the code.

Best Regards,
zawpai

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Please post your code here instead of giving it as an attachment. I'm not going to open a zip file of 1.04 MB, that should contain code. 1.04 MB of text is rather much.

So just post your cpp file(s) here and be sure to use [code=cpp] //code here [/code] tags

Try printing the arguments the program receives, I think you are simply not calling it correctly (maybe e.g. due to spaces in file paths)

if (argc != 3)
{
    cout << "Usage: compfiles <file1> <file2>\n";
    for(int ii = 0; ii < argc; ++ ii)
    {
        cout << "Arg# " << ii << " = " << argv[ii] << "\n";
    }
return 1;
}

Hi niek_e,

The following is my sample code. Please check for me. Actually, I have already saved the two files in the same folder before doing the compiling my codes.

/*
	Create a file comparison utility.
*/

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
	register int i;
	//int numread;

unsigned char buf1[1024], buf2[1024];

if (argc != 3)
	{
		return 1;
	}

ifstream f1(argv[1], ios::in | ios::binary);

if(!f1)
	{
		cout << "Can't open first file.\n";
		return 1;
	}

ifstream f2(argv[2], ios::in | ios::binary);

if (!f2)
	{
		cout << "Can't open second file.\n";
		return 1;
	}

cout << "Comparing files.....\n";

do
	{
		f1.read((char *) buf1, sizeof buf1);
		f2.read((char *) buf2, sizeof buf2);

if (f1.gcount() != f2.gcount())
		{
			cout << "Files are of differing sizes.\n";
			f1.close();
			f2.close();
			return 0;
		}

// compare contents of buffers
		for (i=0; i< f1.gcount(); i++)
		{
			if(buf1[i] != buf2[i])
			{
				cout << "Files differ.\n";
				f1.close();
				f2.close();
				return 0;
			}
		}