I am trying to code a program that will generate six random lotto numbers, and then the two supplementary numbers.
And not to generate the same number twice.

I'm new to pascal, so I understand if you don't want to create a whole code for me but could you at least give me some pointers?

Thanks heaps.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You'll need to call Randomize at the beginning of your program, and use Random to generate each number. number := random( 45 ) +1; generate random number in 1..45

You'll also have to decide how to store each lotto sequence. For example, a 6/45 sequence might be:

type
  LottoNumber = 1..45;
  LottoNumbers = array[ 1..8 ] of LottoNumber;  // 6 + 2 supplimentary

You can then write a function that generates the lotto numbers using something along the lines of the following pseudo-code:

for each number to generate
  repeat
    num := generate a random number in 1..high(LottoNumber)
  until num not in numbers[ 1..i-1 ]
  numbers[ i ] := num
end for

You'll have to figure out how to write the code that does it, but the above algorithm should be your guide.

Hope this helps.

Thankyou soo much!
Heaps of help :)

You'll need to call Randomize at the beginning of your program, and use Random to generate each number. number := random( 45 ) +1; generate random number in 1..45

You'll also have to decide how to store each lotto sequence. For example, a 6/45 sequence might be:

type
  LottoNumber = 1..45;
  LottoNumbers = array[ 1..8 ] of LottoNumber;  // 6 + 2 supplimentary

You can then write a function that generates the lotto numbers using something along the lines of the following pseudo-code:

for each number to generate
  repeat
    num := generate a random number in 1..high(LottoNumber)
  until num not in numbers[ 1..i-1 ]
  numbers[ i ] := num
end for

You'll have to figure out how to write the code that does it, but the above algorithm should be your guide.

Hope this helps.

procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);