Back with another question concerning my RPG. I had the idea to do a multi-dimensional array to represent a map, with each element in the array being it's own square, Depending on where you are, you can move in any of the 4 directions, unless you are on an edge. Also, I wanted to have specific squares represent towns and such.

The only problem is I'm not very good with arrays. I can initialize it, but that's about it. I just need some suggestions to get me going in the right direction.

Recommended Answers

All 31 Replies

You could create a class that handles the boundaries of your multi-dimension array.

My question is this -- are you planning on having only 2 dimensions for the map or 3 in the event that you want to do some kind of map-switch?

My question is this -- are you planning on having only 2 dimensions for the map or 3 in the event that you want to do some kind of map-switch?

Just 2, a chessboard with special squares (only bigger of course)

er, now that I think about it though, is it possible to have like dungeons or something that have their own specific map layouts?

Just 2, a chessboard with special squares (only bigger of course)

er, now that I think about it though, is it possible to have like dungeons or something that have their own specific map layouts?

Of course. It's your multi-dimension array, you can set it up any way you like.

You're going to want to do this the easy way... and when I mean the easy way I mean having your map already built in a .txt file then read the characters into a 2D char array...

#ifndef MAPXSIZE
#define MAPXSIZE 8
#endif
#ifndef MAPYSIZE
#define MAPYSIZE 8
#endif

typedef char MapArray[MAPXSIZE][MAPYSIZE] = {0};

MapArray firstMap, dungeon1Map, dungeon2Map; //... however many maps that you may need

//code to fill map with chars from .txt file

Why would you want to fill up the array with chars though?

Why would you want to fill up the array with chars though?