Hello
I want to make pairs between random number and non random numbers. so that random number will come twice to its corresponding value. I think it is better to see the output so it will give the idea. Like the first column have the numbers from 1 to 25 and in the second column the numbers are generated randomly with in the range of 1 to 25. I want to generate random number so that they will come twice. Like if 16 is generated randomly at 1 then at 16th value of first column the random number should be 1. as I am new in c++ so please help in making pairs. I used seed function so that when I run it with different seed the program will give me different random numbers at every seed. Note that the first colum is not random but the second column is random.

1 16
2 5
3 8
4 6
5 2
6 4
7 13
8 3
9 11
10 18
11 9
12 12
13 7
14 24
15 22
16 1
17 21
18 10
19 23
20 25
21 21
22 15
23 19
24 14
25 20

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Technically what you referring are called pseudo-random numbers and not actual random numbers, BTW can we see what you have tried or instead you could find the complete details for your program here ?

i have a template which i cannot post. i am just posting the function that i made and i will call it later in the template.

void Permutation_Random(int N,int *permutation)
{
    long int i,j,temp,dummy;

i=1;while (i<N) {
    j=i+rand()%(N-i+1);
    temp=permutation[i];    
    permutation[i]=permutation[j];
    permutation[j]=temp;
temp="<<temp;cout<<"\n";
    i++;
    }
}

// i will call the function later in the program. i am using seed function//
//seed=9999;srand(seed);
//Permutation_Random(N,pm-1);
//k=0;while(k<N){cout<<k<<"-->"<<pm[k]<<" ";k++;cout<<"\n";}