Please could someone help me with a very simple question. I use VB macros quite extensively for a variety of data contol tasks in Excel. I'm totally self taught assisted by "Help" and frustration in equal measures.
"Help" tells me I'm using VBA 6.0.8435. I would like to learn more about VB but all the books I look at refer to VB as a seperate program rather than something only accessed through Excel/macros. Is this VB6 I've been using the same program as the books refer to or should I be obtaining a seperate piece of software to continue learning?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Please could someone help me with a very simple question. I use VB macros quite extensively for a variety of data contol tasks in Excel. I'm totally self taught assisted by "Help" and frustration in equal measures.
"Help" tells me I'm using VBA 6.0.8435. I would like to learn more about VB but all the books I look at refer to VB as a seperate program rather than something only accessed through Excel/macros. Is this VB6 I've been using the same program as the books refer to or should I be obtaining a seperate piece of software to continue learning?

You've been using Visual Basic for Applications, which is a subset of Visual Basic. If you want to learn to program applications that are stand alone (rather than part of an Excel workook, a word document, or MS Access) then Visual Basic is what you want to try. The easiest transition from VBA to VB is Visual Basic 6, though this is an old package now, and you'll have trouble buying it anywhere.

There are vba books around if you are interested in learning more about this. My local bookstore has several. I did the same as you, went from VBA to VB. Ask anymore questions you may have.

Mark

Ah-ha; Thanks Mark, I suspected something like this. Any good suggestions as to where I could lay my hands on VB6 would be much appreciated.