Hi :)

I am fairly new to programming and am trying to error check the user input. I stumbled upon the 'isalpha' etc functions and so my plan is to loop through the array checking everything is a number or (the one) decimal point. However I am using getline for my input which takes in a string and I can't figure out how to convert.

I searched the internet and someone had done a strcpy using pointers to characters but I a) can't get this to work and b) don't understand why pointers are used with the strcpy function I thought it had to be an character array. (On a related point how do you get strcpy, stcmp etc to work with strings?)

Thanks in advance for any help.

P.S Any better ways to error check would be appreciated although I would still be curious to know how to convert strings to an array.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

don't use char arrays or char*. use std::strings. if your input is a string, you can just use the [] operator to access elements in it (it's been overloaded)

string str = "Hello";
if(str[1] == 'e')
//this is true

If you really want to know how to convert a string to an array:

char strarray[100];
string str = "Hello";
for(int i = 0;i < str.length();i++)
    strarray[i] = str[i];

but this is useless given that the [] operator can be used with strings.

Good news: std::string has a wonderful member function c_str(). It returns a const pointer to the C-style version of the invoking string.
Now you may use all power of old good str family. Don't modify the string contents via forcibly casted as non-const pointer obtained from c_str()!

Rush after prev post (an example and the answer to the question):

std::string stlString("Don\t tread on me!");
char IloveC[2008];
strcpy(IloveC,stlString.c_str());

If you really want to know how to convert a string to an array:

char strarray[100];
string str = "Hello";
for(int i = 0;i < str.length();i++)
    strarray[i] = str[i];