Hey, I'm just starting to learn C++ and I need some help with a header file. I'm using a Dummies Guide book and it says that I need to create a header file with the extension .h. SO I created a source file called header.h and put this at the top of the main:

#include "header.h"

But when I compiled it I got an error message stating that all the functions and variables that were set in header.h were unknown to the main. So is there a problem with the way that I created/linked the header file?

This book really doesn't explain how to create header files, it just tells you to do so. And all the other C++ books I could find were outdated, with a copyright of 1993 (even older than me). I would really appreciate some help. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Post the header file and the .cpp file. There's no specific special thing you need to do to create a header file. What you said could be correct, but it's a bit vague.

Some reading examples here, here and here.

Post the header file and the .cpp file. There's no specific
special thing you need to do to create a header file. What you said could be correct, but it's a bit vague.

main.cpp

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include "header.h"
using namespace std;
int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    variable = 20;
    function();
    system("PAUSE");
    return 0;
}

header.h

extern int variable;
void function();

You have prototyped the void function(); in the header file, but nowhere you have defined function(). How does the compiler know what it does?

Actually that's not the problem. The function was specified in another source file called proto.cpp. Anyway, I was playing around with the source files and somehow figured out how to make it work. But now there's a problem. I keep getting an error message and my console needs to close. Can you please help me out with this?

main.cpp

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include "header.h"
using namespace std;
int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{