Hi,

I'm new in Visual Basic. Here's a few questions:

1. What is the difference between VB and VB.net

2. Any good ebook you guys recommend for VB and VB.net?? (I've learned Perl, C++ and Java)

3. If I want to learn VB.net do i need to learn ASP.net first?

4. Any good IDE to recommend for VB and VB.net??

Thanks in advance...

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Ya. Sorry I forgot to browse through the forum first. After browsing through I roughly get an idea on my first question.

5. If I want to learn VB.net, is it neccessary for me to learn VB first? Will it make my learning easier?

6. Which framework i should use?? 1.0,1.1,1.4,2.0,3.0,3.5? The latest the best?

5. Not necessary .Yes

6. The latest the best .

Thanks. Actually looking for more replies...

I'll tackle these in order, then summarize...

1. VB and VB.NET are very similar. They have their roots in BASIC, a programming language used on nearly every architecture since the language's inception. Even the classic Commodores used it. Of course, VisualBasic is a long way from the Beginners All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code used on the Commodores and the Apple ][. Over the years, things were added to the language to allow it to perform different additional functions. Before Windows, Microsoft released a version of BASIC with MS-DOS called QBASIC. This was the direct predecessor of Visual Basic, introduced to make programming Windows applications simpler, much as QBASIC was introduced to simplify DOS programming. VB quickly grew and matured, expanding functionality with every edition until it became equally as powerful as nearly any other language available. VB.NET took VB and hooked it even further into the rest of the system by connecting the language directly into the brand-new .NET framework. The only real difference between the two is built-in .NET support, though VB.NET does streamline the way some things are done.