Greetings everyone...

I'm new to Standard Template Libraries thus I'm encountering problems now and then...

I managed to get some examples on integer lists to work but the string lists give me nothing but grief...

What I'm trying to do is to read a series of words from an input text file, insert them into a list and then print them on the screen. However, the following code only prints the last word repeatedly, the number of times equal to the words in the file, which leads me to believe I actually succeed in creating the list but can't read properly from it.

The code is as follows... And help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance...

Barış

#include <list>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std ;

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

void main (void)
{
 	FILE *inputFile = fopen("input.txt", "r");

if(inputFile == NULL)
	{
		std::cout << "Dosya acilamadi...";
	}

list<char *> wordList;

char currentword[100] = "";

while(!feof(inputFile))
	{
		fscanf(inputFile, "%s", currentword);

wordList.push_back(currentword);

printf("%s\n", currentword);
	}

list<char *>::iterator wordListIterator = wordList.begin();

for(list<char *>::iterator ai=wordList.begin(); ai!=wordList.end(); ++ai)
	{
		std::cout << *ai << " ";
	}

fclose(inputFile);  
 }

The input file is as follows :

Deneme Anne Elvis Abba

Lives cat Baba internet

Kazak Baba

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Without being an STL-wizard myself, it appears to me that you are filling the list with pointers to the same array of characters every time, and replacing the data in this array with the latest word. This ought to give you the behaviour you describe.

What you need to do is to dynamically allocate space for every word as you want it stored, and then save the pointer to this space in your list.
Don't forget to free the memory when you're done with it.

Wow... I didn't think it would work but it did... Thanks :)

Why are you combining C++ STL with old-style C constructs anyway?