Hi there.

i am trying to create an java class dealing with arrays though i am only new to programming.

i have created a class with a char array field though i am not sure how to initialise it in the constructor.
i am also trying to implement a few methods though a couple i am lost on:
•print(). This method prints the string it represents to the console.
•concat().This method takes a char array as a parameter. It returns a new char array, which is the concatenation of MyString and the input char array. E.g. if MyString represents “Memorise “, and the input parameter represents the “syntax”. This method will return “Memorise syntax”.
•subString().This method takes a char array as parameter. It returns true if the input char array is a sub-string of MyString. Otherwise it returns false.

any help in any way would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers Nate
below is what i have got so far, (though not sure if right)

public class MyString
{
private char[] Array1;

public int length;

public MyString(char[] Array1)// my constructor though think i am way off
{

this.Array1 = Array1;
}

public int length() //returns length of array
{
length = Array1.length;
return length;
}

public char[] copy() // copy's the entire array
{
char[] copy =new char[Array1.length];
for (int i=0; i > Array1.length; i++)
{
copy = Array1;
}
return copy;
}

public char duplicate(char j, int i) // duplicates and object in the array
{
Array1 = j;
return j;

}

//now iam lost

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

well, first and foremost, use [ code][ /code] tags. now that that's out of the way,

your constructor is right

for print you need to use a for loop or a while loop, to loop through the array and print the individual chars one at a time

for concat you need to make a new local array that is of size length + parameter length and copy the first into it and then the second.