Hi,
I am a newbie in python, and i am currently using py2exe in Windows and python 2.5 platform. The problem is, my python code is residing in several subdirectories (1 folder for images, 1 for other .py files etc). Now, I would like to use py2exe to create an exe file. However, after i run py2exe, the exe created can't run, as it states that it couldn't find the images, or the py files it's suppose to call. I used data_files to insert those files, and when i check, they are there. So i can't figure out what was wrong with the setup.py that i created.

Below are examples of the errors i got when i click open game.exe i created with py2exe:

error: Couldn't open C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\game\dist\game.exe\Data\loading_splash.jpg
WindowsError: [Error 3] The system cannot find the path specified: 'C:\\Documents and Settings\\Administrator\\Desktop\\game\\dist\\game.exe\\lib/*.*'

And within my setup.py, i got this:

setup(options = {"py2exe": {"optimize": 2, "bundle_files": 1}},
zipfile=None,
windows=["game.py"],
data_files=[("Data",glob.glob("Data/*.*")),
("lib/MygameData",glob.glob("lib/MygameData\\*.*")),

Anybody got any idea where i go wrong? Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I've tried. But when i clicked on the exe file after it has compiled, it can't running. The thing is, when i run the python files without compiling, everything works fine. I think my problem is I did not know how to properly compile multiple subdirectories using py2exe as I've never done it before.

which GUI do you use? Gpy2exe should wake fine. Do you use setup.py?

Need clarification to help

Here's a snippet of a setup.py that I've used before to grab things that were not in the same directory...

setup(
  zipfile = None,
    # We use os.path.join for portability
    package_dir = {'': os.path.join('..', 'Common')},
    py_modules = ['mylog', 'IPVerify', 'logfile', 'remoteCmd', 'rd_num_gen', 'crc32'],
	windows = [
		{