I was wondering how Python would work with this program I wanted to make. I have very little experience with Python, so bare with me. What I wanted was to make a program that brought up quotes randomly from a .txt file and put them in a XP/Vista message bubble from the icon of the program in the system tray. It wouldn't have a traditional GUI, just the icon in the system tray with the bubble with the quote in it every four hours from start up. I imagine Python could bring up random quotes in a window pretty easily, I just don't know if it will allow me to have the tooltip thing from the system tray.

I had asked this question on another forum, and I had a lot of posts saying that the program was a horribly stupid and useless idea. It's actually my first experiment with coding anything besides html/CSS/PHP/XML, considering I started in web design and never had the opportunity for anything else, because I picked up everything I know through experience. The other reason I wanted to make this program is that my best friend had asked me to, so I am.

I've got the ability to write the code with Eclipse/PyDev and I'm using Windows for the moment, until I get sick of it.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I wouldn't know how to put it into a windows program, but a random quote generator was my first program too!

They way I did it was make a dictionary, the quote was the key, the value was the author.

EDIT: Oh, wait I see what you mean about system tray pop up bubbles. Yep, that's way over my head, but sounds fun.

Anyway, here's essentially what I wrote for my first python experiment, minus the dictionary, adding a class.

import random
quotefile = open('quotes.txt','r')
linelist = quotefile.read().split('\n') #read the file however you'd like, this is just how i sometimes do it
quotefile.close()

class Quote:
[INDENT]def __init__(self,quote,author):
[INDENT]self.quote = quote
self.author = author[/INDENT]
def __str__(self):