Hello, I'm new. I'm a teacher (not a programmer), but I would like to get a little more serious about hobby programming. I have Visual Basic 6.0 Working Model (this came with one of the programing books I bought for a college class a few years back). Unfortunately, I cannot create executables. I have to run my programs from inside the development environment. I'd really like to share my programs with friends and family. Please refer me to a site where I can download a free VB complier which will work on XP. I've found some for Windows 95, but they wouldn't install properly. Thanks for helping me.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hello, I'm new. I'm a teacher (not a programmer), but I would like to get a little more serious about hobby programming. I have Visual Basic 6.0 Working Model (this came with one of the programing books I bought for a college class a few years back). Unfortunately, I cannot create executables. I have to run my programs from inside the development environment. I'd really like to share my programs with friends and family. Please refer me to a site where I can download a free VB complier which will work on XP. I've found some for Windows 95, but they wouldn't install properly. Thanks for helping me.

No such thing.

That restriction is the reason it's free.
It's designed specifically as a learning tool, which is why distribution of the produced programs is inhibited by the requirement to run them inside the IDE.

There are NO free VB versions for Windows 95 either. There may be free BASIC compilers but those are not VB...

You can get free programming languages if you want, there are many examples.
Borland has a free version of their C++ Builder environment and compiler for non-commercial use.
Microsoft has a free version of their C++ compiler (without the IDE and tools) for any use whatsoever (and so has Borland of an older version).

Java is free of charge if you shop around a bit for editors and other tools you want.