Hi everybody. I'm pretty new to java programming, just taking it as independent study my final year of high school, and I was looking for a little help. I was wondering if there was a way to have the program pause and wait for the user to tap any key before progressing. If you have any help for me it'd be wonderful.

Thanks in advance,
Dan

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Simply implement the KeyboardListener. There is a lot of information on how to use this all over the internet.

Or, if thats a bit to bite off, you could look into JOptionPane. Try, say,

String someString = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter someString");

This will prompt the user before entering someString in a text box. You'll need to import javax.swing.JOptionPane; or javax.swing.*; if you're going to use this. In order to make this work for "tapping any key", insert the line above wherever you wish a pause.

When you call this function it will generate a dialog.
It works the same as an JOptionPane. So the program will wait untill you close this dialog.
Only one future is that you can add your own container to it. So make a GUI in a class.

imports:

import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.event.*;
import java.swing.*;

on the point where you want to break for a message or a input call create a MyContainer en call the function.
So on that line you use those two lines

MyContainer mycontainer = new MyContainer();
showDialog(null,"Title of the dialog",mycontainer,Color.blue);

and put this function in your class.

public void showDialog(Component parentComponent, String title, MyContainer container, Color bg)
      throws HeadlessException {

final JDialog dialog;
    int middleX = 400;
    int middleY = 400;

Window window = new JFrame();          

if (window instanceof JFrame) {
        dialog = new JDialog((JFrame)window, title, true);	
    } else if(window instanceof Frame) {
        dialog = new JDialog((Frame)window,title,true); 
    } else {