Hey there, I'm kinda new to Programing and I'm still learning the basics, I have Borland C++ 5.5 program and I need to write the following program in it, any help about it would be very appreciated, please reply ASAP :)

The Program is the following:

Write a program to determine whether a series of purchases come in over or under a budget. The program starts by reading a budget and a sales tax rate. It then reads a series of input lines containing the price of an item, the number purchased, and a discount rate. The program computes and prints the cost of each item. After reading all the input, it then prints the total cost and how it compared to the budget.

A run of the program:

Enter your budget $: 25.00

How many items are you buying? 4

Enter the price of item #1: 1.09
Enter quantity of item #1: 5

Enter the price of item #2: 1.25
Enter quantity of item #2: 3

Enter the price of item #3: 3.69
Enter quantity of item #3: 7

Enter the price of item #4: 1.00
Enter quantity of item #4: 9

Your total purchase is $ 43.03
You are $ 18.03 over budget

Enter your budget $: 25.00

Enter the price of item #1: 1.09
Enter quantity of item #1: 5

Enter the price of item #2: 1.25
Enter quantity of item #2: 3

Enter the price of item #3: 2.00
Enter quantity of item #3: 2

Enter the price of item #4: 1.00
Enter quantity of item #4: 8

Your total purchase is $ 21.02
You are $ 3.98 under budget.

Im totally lost here... thanks for ur help in advance! and remember I need the SIMPLEST form of programming, I have only been taking this course from 2 weeks so far...

thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

That seems a pretty advanced project for just two weeks into a course.

You'll find you won't get much in the way of specific help here till you show you've attempted to solve the problem yourself - show the work you've done, ask questions about problems you encounter.