first of all, I wanna say hi to u all as I'm new to daniweb. I'm a freshman in a college so I don't know much of c yet. So please be understanding in case that I will ask some n00b question later on :)
So this is my problem...first one
I was using this code to get input from player to move the pad right and left

while(i<10)
   {i++;
    clrscr();
    mov='s'; //supposed to be null, need more knowledge about \0
    y=10;
    gotoxy(x,y);puts(pad);/*supposed to remove the cursor if it's possible. Ended up using puts to make the cursor less noticeable*/
    mov==getch();
    if(mov='d')//supposed to be right arrow, don't know how to
    {x=x+1;
     clrscr();
     gotoxy(x,y);puts(pad);
    }
    else if(mov='a')//supposed to be left arrow
    {x=x-1;
     clrscr();
     gotoxy(x,y);puts(pad);

but I ended up getting right movement with anykey pressed

also another problem is getting the ball move as the time passed (I have no idea how to)

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

> mov==getch();
> if(mov='d')//supposed to be right arrow, don't know how to
You got them both wrong
= is for assignment (the first one)
== is for comparison (the second one)

Yay...thanks, Salem
New things for me :)

but how about my second question about time-based movement? or rather I called GUI in C? is it even possible? if it is, please refer me to the materials.

thanks a bunch though ^^

Which OS / Compiler are you using?

Sure it's possible, but it won't be standard C anymore.

I'm using Borland C++ 5.0 in windows xp
I'm not sure which version my compiler is though...
What do you mean about not standard C anymore? Is it about making and using custom library? I've downloaded a source of snake game and I saw some custom *.h files included in it...what I'm curious about is how to produce our own library, I mean what kind of IDE supports making of *.h library? Can you provide me some simple examples of *.h source?
I'm sorry for asking so much question XD