I have to write a code that will produce a 2^n by 2^n board and then fill it (filling it isn't important, I think I got that down). Now, since my board is dynamic, any suggestions on how to deal with this. I'm passing my array from my main function to a void function where it will be printed. So, what would be the best way to handle this?

I figure I have to use pointers to accomplish this, but is that the best way to handle it. And, how would that look. Someone said they were doing something like
int a[m][m]
int *ptr = a;
int **ptr = ptr[m];

but then they said they were getting a lot of bugs. So, any suggestions on how to tackle this. I'm new to pointers so I'm not sure what to try.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Are you familiar with vectors ? If so you can use a 2 dimensional vector and that way you wouldn't have to mess with the memory allocation yourself.

here is an example of how you can allocate and use a 2 dimensional array with pointers.

Here's an example of encapsulating a 2D vector and emulating the behavior or a 2D vector through a class--

#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
#include <cmath>

using std::cin;
using std::cout;
using std::endl;
using std::vector;
using std::ostream;
using std::size_t;

class TwoDimensional{

vector<int> dummyVec;
    vector< vector<int> > rowContent;

public:
        TwoDimensional(unsigned int rowSize = 0, unsigned int columnSize = 0){
            rowContent = vector< vector<int> >( static_cast<int>( pow(static_cast<double>(2), static_cast<double>(rowSize)) ),
                         vector<int>( static_cast<int>( pow(static_cast<double>(2), static_cast<double>(columnSize))), 0));
        }

ostream& showDimensions(ostream& out = cout){
            out << "Column Size: " << rowContent[0].size() << "\n";
            out << "\nRow Size: " << rowContent.size();
            return out;
        }

ostream& showContents(ostream& out = cout){
            for(size_t i = 0; i < rowContent.size(); i++){