Hey,

This is my first time on a VB forum so this may well be a long post, as there are many questions I've been wanting to ask over the years - sorry! Oh yeah, and I'm using VB6.

1) Is there a way to make "global" variables - for instance, a variable that can be accessed by any object on any form, other than by using an object's Tag or creating an invisible label? Just that my forms often tend to be very cluttered by the end...

2) Again about clutter... Am I missing something in terms of form organization? Say I want 10 timers, is there a better way to have them as a part of the form other than having them all sitting there in corner, as this very quickly clutters up the form?

3) Clutter again, but for code... I've heard about modules, which I believe may be what I'm looking for, but how do these work? Basically I want a global function that can carry out certain code whenever called...

4) This one relates to a game I'm making. Is there a way I can make multiple "frames" to a form? As in, have a side panel that's always there, but toggle between other frames that cover the rest of the screen? I don't think an MDI form is what I'm looking for as I want the whole thing in fullscreen, with no title bars, but something like that.

5) Again for my game... Is there a way to reference objects on another form, like so:

FormName.ObjectName(Index).Visible = True

But with the form name and object name as strings and the index as a variable? It doesn't seem to work...

==========================

That's all I can think of for now, but I expect there will be more.

Thanks,

- Danjb

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

1. you need to declare the variable as public in a module (.bas file).
2.timers are not visible at runtime ,so what is the problem.
3.right click on project ans add module. it has no UI but only code window.
4.what is the problem with MDI ?
5. that should work for you.

Thanks for the reply.

1) Ok, I'll try that, thanks.