Hi everyone. I decided to try and learn C++ on my own and i have ran into a problem and i just need slight kick in the butt. :)

I am just learning structures and i am practicing using some of the examples at the end of the chapter in my book. When i run the code below i get an error while running the program. The error is a windows error and says my program has encountered a problem and needs to terminate. I know the problem is with *student->Tests, but i am not sure what i am doing wrong.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

struct studInfo
{
    char Name[31];
    short Idnum;
    int* Tests;
    float avg;
    char grade;
};

void main()
{
    short numTests, numStudents;
    studInfo* student;
    int* testScores;

cout << "How many Students? : ";
    cin >> numStudents;
    cout << "\nHow many test scores? : ";
    cin >> numTests;

student = new studInfo[numStudents];
    testScores = new int[numTests];

for ( int i = 0; i < numStudents; i++ )
    {
        cout << "\nEnter ID for student " << (i + 1) << ": ";
        cin >> student->Idnum;
        for ( int j = 0; j < numTests; j++ )
        {
             cout << "\nEnter test score " << (j + 1) << " for student " << i + 1 << ": ";
             cin >> *student->Tests;

}
    }
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi
here is what I would change:

struct studInfo
{
char Name[31];
short Idnum;
int Tests;
float avg;
char grade;
};

P.S. A general advice:

int main()
{
return 0;
}

Hi everyone. I decided to try and learn C++ on my own and i have ran into a problem and i just need slight kick in the butt. :)

I am just learning structures and i am practicing using some of the examples at the end of the chapter in my book. When i run the code below i get an error while running the program. The error is a windows error and says my program has encountered a problem and needs to terminate. I know the problem is with *student->Tests, but i am not sure what i am doing wrong.