Alright guys, I'm a total n00b to assembly. NOTE: I am not a student -- I am a professional lawyer who loves to tinker with the computer and waste time.

Using Visual Studio 2008 Express (C++), I actually managed to write a function in assembly language that evaluates a character, and if it is a lower case letter, returns the corresponding uppercase letter, if not a lower case letter, returns the same character evaluated.

I wrote this function in C++, assembly (in-line) and assembly (MASM).

Here is the C++ Code:

char cppToUpper(char c)
{
    if (c > 122 || c < 97 )
	   return c;
    else return c - 32;
}

Here is the inline assembly Code:

char cToUpper(int c)
{
    //
    //cout << cLowerLimit;
    _asm
    {

//Copy the character onto the arithmetic register for single bytes
	   mov eax, c;

//Test the Upper Limit
	   cmp eax, 122; // Compare the Character to 122
	   ja End;  //  Jump to the end if above -- the character is too high to be a lower case letter

//Test the lower limit
	   cmp eax, 97 //Compare the character to 97
	   jb End; // Jump to the end if below == the character is too low to be a lower case letter

//Now the operation begins
	   sub eax, 32; //Subtract 32 from the character in the register

End:
	 // mov result, al; //Move the Character in the register into the result variable

}

}

And here is the function in pure assembly language:

.model flat, stdcall
option casemap :none

.code

cUpperCase2 proc cValue:DWORD

mov eax, cValue

cmp eax, 122

ja TEnd

cmp eax, 97

jb TEnd

sub eax, 32

TEnd:

ret

cUpperCase2 endp

end

Now, here is what the C++ function disassembles to:

char cppToUpper(char c)
{
01271680  push        ebp  
01271681  mov         ebp,esp 
01271683  sub         esp,0C0h 
01271689  push        ebx  
0127168A  push        esi  
0127168B  push        edi  
0127168C  lea         edi,[ebp-0C0h] 
01271692  mov         ecx,30h 
01271697  mov         eax,0CCCCCCCCh 
0127169C  rep stos    dword ptr es:[edi]