hi we have a programming assignment which computes the volume of a barrel. I don't have a compiler yet and java is not yet recognized by my computer yet because I haven't downloaded any JDK yet because I don't know which one to download...Here's my code so far...Please just review my codes because I can't test them and this is my first programming ass in java..so i'm still a newbie..

import java.util.Scanner;

public class A1{
	public static void main(String args[])
	{
	double h, r1, r2; byte b;

Sanner input = new Scanner(System.in);
	System.out.println("Enter r1 & r2");
	b = input.nextByte();
	r1 = input.nextDouble();
	r2 = input.nextDouble();

System.out.print("Volume Of the barrel is= "
	+ (h*Math.Pi*(((2*r1)*(2*r1)) + ((r2)*(r2))) / 3));
	}
}

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

hi we have a programming assignment which computes the volume of a barrel. I don't have a compiler yet and java is not yet recognized by my computer yet because I haven't downloaded any JDK yet because I don't know which one to download...Here's my code so far...Please just review my codes because I can't test them and this is my first programming ass in java..so i'm still a newbie..

Try Java SE. Download JDK 6 Update 10 with NetBeans 6.1
http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp

The IDE is just personal preference. It's all free. You need to have a JDK installed. Trying to program without being able to compile is for the birds. You also need access to the Java reference pages.

http://java.sun.com/javase/6/docs/

You'll use them often and you ned to be able to look things up. You'll quickly find your typos with the compiler and the fact that it's Math.PI, not Math.Pi. You'll waste way too much time if you don't have a compiler and access to the docs. Scanner is misspelled, you don't use b, and h is uninitialized. The compiler errors will tell you this. Download and install one. You can't program on paper without experimenting.

import java.util.Scanner;

public class A1{