I am developing a job portal and i want the end user to enter his/her D.O.B..for that I want to create 3 dropdown one for..day,second for month and third for year..since I'm new to asp.net 2.0 my problem is how to program to as to get the values of all the 3 dropdown boxes..into one field. Can anyone help me out? If source code is available..then it's really nice.
thanks..in advance
shraddha

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

When the data is posted onto the receiving page, you'll get say

month=5
Day=8
year = 1945

(not my birthday!!)

you would then - add them up like a human would to form a date like string such as "8/5/1945" and try and convert it to a date, if it succeeds they it was ok however if they entered something like 31st september.. it woudl fail and you know they need to check what they entered

Thanks Liza,
Even I was thinking on a same note..and then will I have to take the database..field datetime...n then string.parse to datetime..field..n at the time of editing the user again gets the string format of datetime..but may be at the time of editing the end user may also see the time..because..datetime takes time by default. Any suggestions?
Well I'm going to give it a try.
anyways thanks
shraddha

Then you need to ensure your formatting for that field removes any time portion.

Also, dont rely on the DB to do the date validation, do it before you try storing the data

Date of birth on a job portal? Are you mad?

Are you mad rashakil ? How will a company identify that a particular employee fits in the specified age group of employees for a particular job. Go through some of the job portals and u'll know what I'm saying..Anyways..why am I explaining you

DOB shouldnt matter if someones capable of doing a job they are capable however, I dont see why it shouldnt be there.

Then you need to ensure your formatting for that field removes any time portion.

Also, dont rely on the DB to do the date validation, do it before you try storing the data

Hi,